The American Library Association Youth Media Awards, including the prestigious Coretta Scott King Book, Caldecott, Newbery, and Printz Awards, are selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts and represent very the best literature and media for youth. In the world of children's publishing, the Youth Media Awards press conference is one of the most anticipated events of the year. The 2018 announcements will take place on Monday, Feb. 12, at 8 a.m. MT at the Colorado Convention Center as part of the ALA Midwinter Meeting.

We had an online pajama party for everyone who couldn't be in Colorado for the announcements. You can see a list of all the 2018 winners and view an archived version of the live webcast .

YMA Pajama Party Photo Promotion

We asked people to share their experience watching the Youth Media Awards on social media with the hashtag #YMApjparty.  As in previous years, official certificates of bragging rights, signed by our judge Daniel Kraus, were awarded for:

  • Best Pajamas
  • Best Snack or Beverage
  • Best Reaction Shot (as the 2018 winners are announced)
  • Best Group/Classroom Shot

Best Group Shot also wins a selection of 2018 Youth Media Award-winning books. One randomly selected winner receives a $100 prepaid Visa gift card.

And the winners are:

Bragging Rights: Best Pajamas


Bragging Rights: Best Snack


Bragging Rights: Best Reaction


Best Group Shot

Winner of the Random Drawing:

$100 prepaid Visa gift card.


Rules: To be entered in the 2018 YMA Pajama Party Photo Promotion, post your photos to Twitter, Instagram or the YMA Pajama Party Facebook Event with the hashtag #YMApjparty from 7:30 a.m. to midnight MST on February 12, 2018. Promotion is open only to residents of the United States. Prizes cannot be shipped to areas outside the United States. Decision of the judge is final. If you want to argue with the man who wrote “Scowler,” be our guest, but we advise against it.

DANIEL KRAUS has landed on Entertainment Weekly‘s Top 10 Books of 2015 (The Death and Life of Zebulon Finch), won two Odyssey Awards (for both Rotters and Scowler), and has been a Library Guild selection, YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults, Parent’s Choice Gold Award winner, Bram Stoker finalist, and more. With Guillermo del Toro, he co-authored Trollhunters, which was adapted into the Emmy-winning Netflix series. Also with del Toro, he co-authored The Shape of Water, based on the same idea Kraus and del Toro created for the award-winning film version. Kraus’s work has been translated into over 15 languages. His feature films as director include Musician (2007 New York Times Critics’ Pick) and Sheriff (2006 season premiere of PBS’s Independent Lens). He lives in Chicago. Visit him at


Check out the 2018 ALA Youth Media Award Winners

Behind the Scenes at 2015 YMAs

2017 American Library Association Youth Media Awards

Because libraries make leaders, Libraries Transform,
Perhaps no audience is more important during Black History Month than our nation’s youth, who will tend the flame of that history for future generations.An encouraging sign for the perpetuation of that legacy was the plaudits recently earned by civil rights icon Congressman John Lewis for “March: Book Three,” written by Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell. The book captured an unprecedented four Youth Media Awards, including one of the prestigious Coretta Scott King Book Awards, at the annual ceremony held by the American Library Association in January in Atlanta.The Youth Media Awards, held each year at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, illustrate the important role librarians play in promoting the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults. Committees of librarians choose the winners and honor recipients of 19 major awards, including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards. READ MORE