I Love My Librarian

Jennifer Jamison, School Librarian & 2013 I Love My Librarian Award-winner, Is Not Afraid to Dream

By on

In her words, Jennifer Jamison, school librarian at Atlantic City (N.J.) High School, the library provides a space for her students that is “safe, nurturing and invites participation.” It also provides expertise that “students otherwise in an urban setting would not get.”

Jamison’s words are bolstered by the results at both the Atlantic City High School library and also the Pennsylvania Avenue School Library, which was named a 2013 National School Library Program of the Year (NSLPY) by the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), a division of the American Library Association.

Children's Librarian, April Hayley, Named San Anselmo's 2012 Person of the Year

By on

Celebrated children’s book author, Jeanne Walker Harvey, interviewed April Hayley, the 2012 San Anselmo, CA person of the year, and Children’s Librarian for the San Anselmo Library exclusively for I Love Libraries. Jeanne and April discuss the importance of children’s librarians in public libraries, as well as the unique and innovative programming that April has implemented in her library. Read the full interview below.

I Love My Librarian Award

By on

Librarians touch the lives of the people they serve every day.  The Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award encourages library users like you to recognize the accomplishments of exceptional public, school, college, community college, or university librarians.  We want to hear how you think your librarian is improving the lives of the people in your school, campus or community.

Meet a winner of the national I Love My Librarian Award

By on

Nominations are now open through September 20 for the 2010 Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award.  The award really is a big deal:  up to 10 librarians in public, school, college, community college and university libraries nationwide will win $5,000 and be honored at an award reception in New York, hosted by The New York Times. 

The 2010 winners will be announced in December.  In the meantime, let’s take a look back at previous years’ winners. Here is Oceana Wilson.