All Articles » Join Us for the Annual I Love My Librarian Ceremony

Join Us for the Annual I Love My Librarian Ceremony

Composite of ten photos featuring the I Love My Librarian Award recipients and the award logo. Top row from left: Melissa Corey, Claire Dannenbaum, Fred Gitner, Clare Graham, Gabriel Graña. Bottom from left: Diana Haneski, Gladys López-Soto, Ted Quiballo, Mychal Threets, Curt Witcher

The country has embraced the winners of the I Love My Librarian Awards! It’s hard to pick up a newspaper or browse a news site online without seeing all the love that the 2024 honorees have been receiving since the awards were announced in December.

The 2024 award winners include three academic librarians, four public librarians, and three school librarians who were nominated by library patrons nationwide for their expertise, dedication, and profound impact on the people in their communities. The American Library Association (ALA) received nearly 1,400 nominations from library users for this year’s award, demonstrating the breadth of impact of librarians across the country. The honorees will each receive a $5,000 cash prize as well as complimentary registration and a $750 travel stipend to attend ALA’s LibLearnX event in Baltimore this weekend.

The I Love My Librarian Award ceremony will take place during the LibLearnX welcome reception at 6:00 p.m. ET on Friday, January 19. If you can’t join us in person for the ceremony, you can stream it live on ALA’s Youtube channel! The red-carpet ceremony is a joyous, happy, and often emotional affair, featuring speeches from all of the award winners, library and ALA leaders, and more. Dubbed "The Oscars for the Library World," it's one of our favorite events of the year. We hope to see you there!

Scroll to Top