I Love My Librarian
I Love My Librarian Award 2025

Nominations Now Open!

Love your librarian? Of course you do! Nominate your librarian for this year's I Love My Librarian Award. They could receive $5,000 and the recognition of a lifetime. Nominations are due September 30!

Has a librarian made a difference in your life or gone above and beyond to serve your community? The I Love My Librarian Award invites library users like you to recognize the accomplishments of exceptional public, school, college, community college, or university librarians. Each year, up to 10 librarians are honored at a ceremony held in their honor and receive a $5,000 cash award.

Since the award was established in 2008, 160 librarians have received this distinguished honor. In that time, library users nationwide have shared more than 23,000 nominations detailing how librarians have gone above and beyond in their commitment to inclusivity, literacy, and digital access.

Nominate a Librarian

Past Award Recipients

Press Kit and Media

Promotional Tools

2025 Selection Committee

Emily Drabinski
Immediate Past President, 2024-2025
American Library Association

Courtney Pentland
Immediate Past President, 2024-2025
American Association of School Librarians

Beth McNeil
Immediate Past President, 2024-2025
Association of College & Research Libraries

Sonia Alcántara-Antoine
Immediate Past President, 2024-2025
Public Library Association

Caryl Matute
Vice President, Branch Libraries and Patron Services
New York Public Library

Chase Ollis, Staff Liaison
Communications Manager
American Library Association

Award Sponsors

Questions and Media Inquiries

For questions about the I Love My Librarian Award, please email campaign@ala.org.

For media inquiries, please visit the I Love My Librarian Award Press Kit and contact cmomedia@ala.org.

Composite of ten photos featuring the I Love My Librarian Award recipients. Top row from left: Melissa Corey, Claire Dannenbaum, Fred Gitner, Clare Graham, Gabriel Graña. Bottom from left: Diana Haneski, Gladys López-Soto, Ted Quiballo, Mychal Threets, Curt Witcher

Congratulations to the 2024 recipients of the
I Love My Librarian Award!

Subscribe to the I Love Libraries newsletter for library news and advocacy updates.

Support I Love Libraries and our efforts to promote the value of libraries and librarians.

Scroll to Top