I Love My Librarian » Press Kit

I Love My Librarian Award

Press Kit

The I Love My Librarian Award invites library users to recognize the accomplishments of exceptional public, school, college, community college, or university librarians.

Each year up to 10 librarians are selected. Each honoree receives a $5,000 cash award in recognition of their outstanding service to their community. They will be honored at an award ceremony during the the American Library Association's LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience in January 2024 and will receive complimentary conference registration and a travel stipend as part of their prize package.

Since its inception in 2008, library supporters nationwide submitted more than 20,000 nominations for their librarians. A total of 150 librarians have received the award to date.

Each nominee must be a librarian with a master’s degree from a program accredited by the American Library Association in library and information studies or a master’s degree with a specialty in school library media from an educational unit accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation. Nominees must be currently working in a public library, a library at an accredited two- or four-year college or university or at at library at an accredited K-12 school, or have been working at one of these institutions as of March 1, 2023.

The I Love My Librarian Award is generously sponsored by the philanthropic foundation Carnegie Corporation of New York, with additional support from the New York Public Library. The award is administered by the American Library Association, the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities.

Media Contacts

Raymond Garcia
Communications and Marketing Office, ALA

Press Releases

High Resolution Logos

Find more promotional graphics here.

2025 Selection Committee

Emily Drabinski
Immediate Past President, 2024-2025
American Library Association

Courtney Pentland
Immediate Past President, 2024-2025
American Association of School Librarians

Beth McNeil
Immediate Past President, 2024-2025
Association of College & Research Libraries

Sonia Alcántara-Antoine
Immediate Past President, 2024-2025
Public Library Association

Caryl Matute
Vice President, Branch Libraries and Patron Services
New York Public Library

Chase Ollis, Staff Liaison
Communications Manager
American Library Association

Subscribe to the I Love Libraries newsletter for library news and advocacy updates.

Support I Love Libraries and our efforts to promote the value of libraries and librarians.

Scroll to Top